I Woke Up in the Middle of the Night

I woke up in the middle of the night and I found a star beside me. It wasn’t like the stars in Mario Galaxy, nor the cartoon ones, nor the scientific “real” ones. But it was like a package wrapped in shiny gauze that changed colour every time it moved. You could tell it was a star  because you could see a faint five-pointed outline. It shimmered and I figured that was a “Hello”. I pinched myself once or twice but I didn’t wake up. The star smelled like honey and cherry blossoms. It spoke to me in a language I never heard of but understand. The voice was like tinkling bells and falling leaves. “Hello, earthling. I believe you thought you were dreaming. My name (if that’s what you call it) is Mist. I live in the Milky Way. Please hurry, I have something for you and I can’t stay long.” I introduced myself and we chatted for about five minutes. “It is my time to go.” The star vanished, leaving behind a necklace with a diamond pendant. I put it around my neck. Then I woke up with a start. The necklace felt cold around my neck and I had a bruise from my pinching.

One thought on “I Woke Up in the Middle of the Night

Leave a Reply

